Some can hardly await to register for next year’s Berlin Wall Race. And the waiting will end soon, since on Monday, 12 October, at noon the online registration will be opened. 350 single starting places are going to be available. Of course, the 2-person, 4-person and 10plus relays can be registered as well. The new announcement with all necessary information around the 100MeilenBerlin will be released soon.

The Berlin Wall Race of 2016 will be a special event: For the first time the 100MeilenBerlin will be carried out on 13 August. The GDR government started building the Berlin Wall 55 years ago at this date and by that substantiated the separation of Berlin. The Wall Race annually remembers this incident and commemorates the victims. Patron of the Berlin Wall Race is former GDR civil rights activist Rainer Eppelmann.

Review 2015: Bonfiglio and Rolle win

The winner of the fourth Wall Race comes from Italy! In 13:40:11 hours Marco Bonfiglio completed the 160.9 kilometers around Western Berlin. Marco improved his finishing time from last year, when he won second place, by almost 25 minutes.

Marco Bonfiglio at the East Side Gallery

Marco Bonfiglio at the East Side Gallery

Second place winner is Stephane Ruel from France (15:34:05), slightly ahead of Marc Cornelius Jänicke from Berlin (15:35:03).

For the first time in the history of the Wall Race a female solo runner finished under 16 hours. With her time of 15:57 Patricia Rolle (LG Nord) set a fantastic new course record by 1:15 hours.

Victory among the 4-person relay competitions was achieved by the team “Schleichende Hallunken”, among the 10plus relays the Team Axel Springer was successful. Among the 2-peron relays the two Berlin Wall Trail runners Anna Rentsch und Steffen Bruntsch came in first with a time of 18:01:57.

The 2015 Berlin Wall Race was dedicated to Marienetta Jirkowsky, who was killed in an escape attempt on November 1980.

Look up our Live Ticker and the results online

Check out our gallery (to be continued)

Pictures of all our participant taken before the race

A participant’s video of the Berlin Wall Race