At the 100MeilenBerlin premiere on 20 August 2011, 92 runners started at the Lobeckstraße stadium in Berlin-Kreuzberg. What an impressive number for a running event that had never existed in this way in Berlin before. At the end, 78 runners reached the finish line within 30 hours – some at the end of their strength, but still entirely happy and surely with many newly gained experiences and impressions. The famous weather god was kind: 25 degrees Celsius as a peak temperature was within tolerable limits.

The victory in the men’s category was shared by the so called “Ultra Running Twins” Michael Vanicek and Jan Prochaska from the LG Nord Ultrateam at a total time of 16 hours and 22 minutes. Third place went to Holger Hedelt from Mannheim who crossed the yellow and black finish line after 16:51 hours.

Results 2011

Gallery 2011

Among the women, one of the favorites also won the title: Marika Heinlein from 1. FC Geesdorf won the 100Meilen premiere in 17:49 hours. Thereby she placed fifth overall. Second place in the women’s category went to Grit Seidel, followed by Catherine Todd, who arrived on short notice from Dubai.

The highlight at the end was the award ceremony at the Lobeckstrasse stadium: Every finisher was handed a certificate and the 100Meilen medal by 100Meilen patron Rainer Eppelmann, together with Minister of the Interior of Berlin at that time Dr. Ehrhart König, Berlin Wall Trail initiator Michael Cramer, District Mayor Franz Schulz, City Councilor for Sports Jan Stoeß (now head of the SPD in Berlin) and Katrin Gueffroy, the mother of Chris Gueffory, a victim of the wall. The medal showed the outline of the Berlin Wall Trail and a portrait of Chris, who was shot to death in 1989 while attempting to escape from the GDR.

Bei der 100Meilen-Premiere am 20. August 2011 gingen 92 Läuferinnen und Läufer im Stadion an der Lobeckstraße in Berlin-Kreuzberg an den Start. Ein stolze Zahl für ein Lauf-Event, das es in dieser Form noch nicht in Berlin gab. Am Ende erreichten immerhin 78 das Ziel innerhalb von 30 Stunden – teils am Ende ihrer Kräfte, aber dennoch überglücklich und sicherlich um einige Erfahrungen sowie Eindrücke reicher. Der berühmte Wettergott spielte auch mit: Mit etwa 25 Grad waren die Tageshöchstwerte noch in einem erträglichen Rahmen.

Ergebnisse 2011

Foto-Galerie 2011

Den Sieg bei den Männern teilten sich die so genannten “Ultralauf-Zwillinge” Michael Vanicek und Jan Prochaska vom LG Nord Ultrateam mit einer Gesamtzeit von 16 Stunden und 22 Minuten. Dritter wurde Holger Hedelt aus Mannheim, der nach 16:51 Stunden die gelb-schwarze Ziellinie in Berlin-Kreuzberg überquerte.

Bei den Frauen gab es ebenfalls einen Favoritensieg: Marika Heinlein vom 1. FC Geesdorf gewann die Mauerweglauf-Premiere in 17:49 Stunden. Damit wurde sie Fünfte in der Gesamtwertung. Platz 2 im Klassement der Frauen ging an Grit Seidel vor Catherine Todd, die kurzfristig aus Dubai angereist war.

Schluss- und Höhepunkt war die Siegerehrung im Stadion an der Lobeckstraße: 100Meilen-Schirmherr Rainer Eppelmann überreichte zusammen mit Berlins damaligem Innensenator Dr. Ehrhart Körting, Mauerweg-Initiator Michael Cramer, Bezirks-Bürgermeister Franz Schulz, Sportstadtrat Jan Stöß (inzwischen Berliner SPD-Chef) sowie der Mutter von Maueropfer Chris Gueffroy, Karin Gueffroy, jedem Finisher eine Urkunde und die 100Meilen-Medaille. Sie zeigte die Umrisse der Mauerweg-Laufstrecke sowie ein Konterfei von Chris, der 1989 bei einem Fluchtversuch erschossen wurde.

marathon4you.de über den Mauerweglauf

Runner´s World

taz.de